Goal Complete!

I just wanted to give you a quick update on Query Count 2013: I have received the tenth rejection letter for Dragon for the year!

There may be some of you thinking that I’m strange for being happy about a negative response.  At the beginning of the year I decided to remove the teeth from rejection.  Yes, the bite of a “no thanks” still stings, but it no longer has the power to leave me bleeding and anxious.

How did I do this magic, you may ask?  Some of you already know that I set a goal of ten rejection letters this year.  That way each letter, while still a negative, also had a positive side.  I got to make a little tick on the goal sheet, making the “no” something at least a little bit more desirable,

If you remember my last query update, I do still have one pending letter because I sent one more than I needed to reach the goal.  Regardless of the results of that letter, I at least met my goal for 2013.

Now I need to figure out what my publishing-related goal will be for 2014.

Query Count 2013: Rejections: 10, Pending: 1, Still to Send: 0

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R. Hans Miller
    Oct 17, 2013 @ 23:50:55

    Well done on putting yourself out there. That’s half the challenge right there. I hope that it gets picked up in time. You obviously really care about the work you’ve done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

