The First of Many

Last night I was planning to get out The Storymatic again and start warming up for NaNo.  I got the box and the journal out, set them on my bedside table… and that was as far as I got.  The first distraction (of many to come) pulled my attention away.  (The Alaska Marine Highway finally put out their summer sailing schedules!  Instead of writing, I started working on the itinerary for my Alaska trip next year.)

Regardless of the reason, there will be distractions come November, and anyone who has done NaNo before can tell you that sometimes you just have to roll with it.  Perhaps distractions mean that you write later in the day than normal.  Maybe a distraction keeps you from completing your count for the day, and you have to find a way to make it up.  In my case, distractions have caused me to lose leads that were carefully developed, to spend days just under the goal, and to fall behind shortly after finally getting ahead.  They have not, however, prevented me from completing the required word count.

NaNo newbies, take note.  This is okay!  It will happen; it happens to (almost) everyone.  Much like cheating on a diet, the important thing is to not let a lost day make you quit, or dishearten you.  Also like a diet, it’s also good to make sure that distracted days are fewer than productive ones!

NaNo doesn’t work perfectly, so don’t be disappointed when things get in your way or don’t work out how you planned.  The point is to write.  So keep writing!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh Townsend
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 00:03:53

    And I am very irritated that I finished this post at 12:02am! It should count as Friday’s post… boo. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

