NaNo is Coming…

Next month is National Novel Writing Month, affectionately known by participants as NaNoWriMo or NaNo.  If you’ve participated, you already know what to expect.  If you haven’t, you have a little less than a month to decide if you’re going to give it a shot this year.

For 2013 I am planning to be a NaNo Rebel.  What is that, you ask?  I am planning to participate in NaNo, but I am not going to follow all of the rules.

(Okay, enough with the insincere gasping in shock.  I am a rule follower, I know, but this is an occasion when rule-breaking is okay.)

Before I explain how I am breaking the rules, I should tell you what they are: 50,000 words in November, work of fiction, started from scratch.  This year I am planning to use NaNo as a chance to work on Mara’s story.  I’m still planning to write at least 50,000 words in November, it’s still a work of fiction, but it is not something I am starting from scratch.

Is it still legitimate for me to claim to be participating in NaNo?  Is it okay for me to use the tracking on the NaNoWriMo site?  Should I validate my novel at the end and claim to be a winner?  It turns out that this happens on a regular basis and the folks at NaNo recognize it, at least enough to host a forum for the rebels and encourage them to utilize the site!  As for validating, well, they leave it up to each individual writer.  In fact, here’s the final verdict, straight from the “Am I a Rebel” forum over at nanowrimo.org:

This is a self-challenge.  The REAL prize of NaNoWriMo is the accomplishment, and the big new manuscript you have at the end.  Everything beyond that is icing on the cake.”

Couldn’t have said it better myself!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Oct 03, 2013 @ 21:21:15

    My rebelliion during Camp NaNo this past summer got me a finished draft on a novel long left languishing. Sometimes you need to break the rules to kick your writing into gear!

    Reply

  2. Arphaxad
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 07:25:08

    I have no intention of finishing my first draft during NaNo, I think my story will take closer to 100k words and I don’t want to cut it down to fit closer to 50k.

    So I were to start it now and get the first 30k – 50k on paper, then write another 50k during November, that would still be within the “rules” of NaNoWriMo. I see no problem with finishing the second half of a story in November, I am planning on only writing the first half.

    In the words of Captain Barbossa “the code is more what you’d call “guidelines” than actual rules”

    Reply

  3. Aldrea Alien
    Oct 04, 2013 @ 19:08:39

    I’ll be participating for the first time, taking that 50k onto the rough 23k I’ve already got. I’ve seen people do it in the past, so I knew I wouldn’t be alone there.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: The Power of Suggestion | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

