Sighing at a Blank Page

Maybe if I leave my laptop on the floor while I shower, Eli will blog for me.

(Insert shower break here.)

 

Yeah, that didn’t work.

Of course, I didn’t expect my dog to write for me!  Honestly, who am I kidding.  The bird is more likely to help out than the dog. 🙂

Tonight I’m having one of those moments that writers dread: a blank page in front of my eyes, a blank mind behind them.  Not entirely blank, really, but none of my ideas are worth much.  I thought about posting an existential not-a-post post, but I’ve done that already.  I considered playing another game, but that seems somewhat ridiculous two nights in a row.  (Thanks to those who played along, by the way!)

My usual default options when I can’t think of a good post idea are writing practice and query letters.  Neither of these things are bad; not only are they reasonable posts for this blog, they are also good for me as a writer.  Tonight, however, maybe not so much.  Writing practice probably wouldn’t have turned out well, given the current state of my creativity – I would have been sitting here for some time, staring, while I tried to gather scattered thoughts.  As far as queries go, well, the posts themselves are little and easy, but they require actually putting together the query packet, and it’s already late and I want to go to bed.  🙂

It’s harder to write a blog about writing when I’m not doing a lot of actual writing, the latter of which is an issue I desperately need to address.  I’ve drilled down to what I think is the problem, and it’s really two problems.  I’ve continued to be very busy at work, and here lately a lot of the work is somewhat creative in nature, causing me to spend my energies there.  That wouldn’t be too much of an issue – I’ve written a lot more while busier – if it weren’t for the fact that I seem to have a dearth of motivation.

Thankfully, November is approaching (next week is October?!) which means two things to help.  First, work should be a bit slower, giving me more time to write.  And second is, well, NaNo!  I always seem to use NaNoWriMo to kick-start my creative process.  Unlike some writers, I don’t fall down in mental exhaustion after a month of intense writing.  Instead, my brain jumps into gear and keeps me going.

So I guess I just need to make it through October!

Leave a Reply

