Why do they all look like Ben Stiller?

Today I had my first adventure with a tabletop role-playing game.  A friend of mine used to play these games a lot as a kid, and even developed his own version.  (Honestly, is anyone surprised that a nerd like me has nerd friends?)  When I mentioned I had never played, he set up a game with a couple of us so I could give it a try.

Developing my character was a lot of fun.  I had to roll some unusual dice (a d4 and a couple of d10s) many times to discover my basic characteristics, from which I came up with the details.  It also allowed for some very fun contemplation of back story and goals.  Since I enjoy creating characters for my stories, this just became an extension of that.

From there, my friend took over, combining my story and the other player’s story into something that allowed us both to work towards our goals, made some sense, and – at least in this case – had a reasonably quick ending.  Since neither of us were sure that I would want to continue this after today’s foray, he created a story that could be finished in one gaming effort.

Of course, since I didn’t know anything more than my own story – the other guy playing had his own story as well, although he knew more of mine than I did of his – there were a few times that I got a bit confused.  The weirdest part was when nearly every male in the story looked like Ben Stiller.  One of my old coworkers looked like Mr. Stiller, the other player’s character looked like Ben (albeit significantly shorter), and then we got to a farmhouse where two other characters stepped out wearing Ben Stiller’s face!

It turned out that all of the Ben Stillers were aliens in disguise, but it took a bit for me to figure that out.

Needless to say, it was quite fun, and there is a good chance that we will play again.  (Maybe next time we won’t fight aliens!)

Leave a Reply

