Why I Blog

A friend asked me the other day about the purpose of my blog.  “What does an introvert get out of a daily blog?”

My first answer addressed the introvert question.  Introverts are fairly common on the internet.  We’re not hermits, after all.  We want social interaction, just in a careful way, and using a keyboard and screen as a buffer allows those of us who are introverts time to compose our thoughts and feel in control of the situation.

That response didn’t fully answer the question, however, so I started thinking further.  What do I get out of this blog?  What is the purpose?

It turns out the reason is two-fold.  In part, the blog serves as my writing journal.  Even if what I’m writing isn’t often practice for my novels, it is continuing the habit of writing and honing my ability to turn thoughts into words and sentences.

The other reason the blog is helpful for this is accountability.  Now, obviously I don’t know many of my readers personally, and it’s not likely you’re going to come after me with pitchforks if I miss a day or two (or more).  It isn’t really true accountability, not in the same was as reporting to a superior or collecting a paycheck.  In my head, however, it works just as well.  If I don’t want to disappoint my readers, I need to post something, and that’s a good enough reason for me.

Unfortunately, I’m the kind of person who needs the accountability part to keep the beneficial “good for me” part going.   Fortunately, a blog provides both!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 22:28:03

    I’m always happy to come after you with a pitchfork, if you need it. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

