A Bad Habit

If you’ve ever read advice for writing, you know that most authors and writers (and English teachers) recommend that you write every day.  The idea for this is to get your brain into the habit of writing.  It can be a struggle at first, but the more you do it, the more your creativity is primed when you sit down.  This is (partly) why I blog.  I can’t just journal daily; without some sort of accountability it won’t happen.  Blogging introduces the concept of readers, thus bringing accountability, be it real or imagined, into the equation.

For the same reasons of habit and priming, it is a very bad idea (at least for me) to blog late in the evening.  All this week I’ve posted after 10pm; in a couple of cases I just squeaked it in before midnight.  So tonight, when I tried to write at 9pm, I got nothing.

When I hit panic mode at 11:30pm, no worries.  The ideas just flowed.

I don’t want to write after 10 every night!   That’s bedtime and reading time, both of which are highly valuable.  This means I now need to add a time requirement onto my daily blogging requirement.  I must post before 10pm!  There’s less accountability, so there may still be late nights, but if I try it for a week it might reset the bad habit I’ve developed.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. georgefloreswrite
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 01:18:29

    Why do you consider this a bad habit? Do you have to wake up extra early on weekdays? My best is accomplished at night, so I comply and make do with a nap.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Sep 16, 2013 @ 20:02:02

      Unfortunately, I am one of those people who needs at least 8 hours a night to be a pleasant person, and I have to be at work at 8am. Thus, writing when I should be going to bed isn’t really a good idea for me…
      I’m jealous of your nap, though!

      Reply

  2. saracrawfordwritingblog
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 06:38:42

    I know what you mean. I feel like my mind works best for writing and creating in the morning. But it didn’t used to always be that way for me. So I think it can change. Then again, I often journal before I go to bed to get all of my thoughts out so I won’t stay up all night thinking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

