Writing in Cards

I may be a writer, but I dislike writing in greeting cards.

It’s a weird thing.  I don’t like adding a message to a greeting card, because it almost always turns out somewhat awkward.  There are exceptions, of course, like blank cards (obviously) and cards for my immediate family.  Generally, though, I’m very bad at adding a note.

This especially goes for certain kinds of cards.  Some cards have easy, one-line things you can add.  “Hope you feel better soon!”  “Have a great birthday!” You get the idea.  They aren’t particularly clever or groundbreaking, just straightforward.  But some are not so easy.  I mean, what do I put in a group-signed sympathy card for a coworker who lost a loved one?

The other piece that’s tricky is when I’ve picked a card with a well-crafted sentiment already in it.  It’s redundant to add my own “happy birthday” if the card already says it.  And even if it isn’t repetitious, I bought the card for the words!  Someone did an excellent job of saying what I wanted to say in a clever, succinct way.  Why should I ruin it with an additional thought?

I know, you’re sitting there wondering why I don’t just sign my name and be done with it.  If I bought it because it said what I wanted it to say, I should be able to do just that.  I can’t, though.  There is something off-putting to me about just signing a card and leaving it at that.  (And yet, this is only in cards that I give.  I have no problem with it in cards that I receive.)

Of course, this is usually what I end up doing in office bereavement cards, and very likely what I’ll do for the baby shower card that started this train of thought.  Even if it is what I do, I don’t exactly feel right about it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 23:27:42

    I never know what to say when presented with cards and such to sign. XP It feels like there’s extra pressure on me to say something profound/clever/hilarious, since I’ve cultivated the reputation of a wordsmith. Maybe that pressure is all internal, but it’s there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

