Commercials

I have been watching too much television lately, apparently, because I have commercials on the brain.  Due to that, I am going to share a few with you.  After the day I’ve had, it’s about all I’ve got. 🙂

I just saw a Guinness commercial that utilizes the build up of a concept and the element of surprise to tug at the heartstrings a bit.

This Dominos commercial makes me a little bit crazy, because of the end.  The vocal says “we didn’t stop at pizza” but the writing on the counter says “Oh yes we did!”

When we were in Custer State Park, my dad and I kept flashing to the State Farm bison commercial.  This was mostly because we were afraid it would happen to us!  (My mom took the following picture at the park, from our car.  We had good reason to worry!)

My mom snapped this photo from our car in Custer State Park!  See why I was worried about it smashing into us?

My mom snapped this photo from our car in Custer State Park! See why I was worried about it smashing into us?

Any commercials that have jumped out at you lately?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Sep 10, 2013 @ 23:10:43

    I’ve been noting the marketing trend of attempting to create an aura of sentimentality around entirely commonplace products.

    Saw an ad for chewing gum the other day, for instance, that centered around a tender father/daughter relationship over the course of several years. And all I could think was, “That’s sweet and all… but it’s just gum.”

    I guess, looked at from one angle, it’s smart of them to try to sell a feeling, since feelings are more deeply affecting than a stick of gum is ever likely to be. But it makes me question why they don’t have enough confidence in the product to do its job as a product and sell itself on its rightful merits, without resorting to over-the-top emotional manipulation.

    Then again, I don’t have much tolerance for the gimmicky cliches of most ads. I am the Commercial Curmudgeon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

