A Faire Day

I am exhausted.

Today I drove 4 hours to the Minnesota Renaissance Festival, spent 6+ hours at the faire, then drove four hours (plus a stop for dinner) home.  Other than my research adventure with Amy in 2010, that is the farthest I have driven for a Faire.

I left my apartment at 7:05 am to pick up a friend and walked back in the door at 11:17pm.  (Needless to say, both Eli and Max were annoyed with me.)  That’s a very long day, and I am very tired.  It was fun, don’t get me wrong, but a long day.

I did manage to limit myself to only two purchases, both of which are local art (to Minnesota, at least).  I got a limited edition print of a drawing of a llama and a hand-made wooden wall hanging of a Pileated Woodpecker on the side of a tree.  It is rare for me to turn down a llama, and woodpeckers are equally uncommon.  Both were also reasonably priced and have ready-made spots on my walls!

Once I wash off the faire dust and sleep on it, I plan to write a post comparing the Minnesota festival to the two I frequented when I lived in Texas.  In some ways a faire is a faire, but there were some obvious differences.

Leave a Reply

