Big Gaps in the Timeline

I had to clean up my spare room in preparation for a visit from my parents, and in the process I found my giant Butterflies timeline on the floor.  (The tape gave up, apparently.)

I re-hung it and pondered it for a bit.  There’s a lot of work to be done, which is probably an understatement.  I mean, I’m dismantling a novel and making it into a series, so there’s going to be a lot of work!  There are also some big gaps I still need to fill.

Some of the gaps are easy – there’s a section of time on Gretchen’s line that is labeled only “training with Dad,” but there are already a couple of scenes written and it’s fun to think about different ways she can learn how to fight.  I’m also contemplating a side story for Dad, and maybe one of the brothers, which can twine through that time as well.

Some are more challenging – Andi’s story doesn’t really even get started until she’s four or five.  Gretchen has a house full of brothers, both older and younger, so there are opportunities for stories before she can remember, and Mara’s story is interesting from day one, but Andi has one older brother near in age and a significantly younger little sister.  What stories are there with a 3-year-old and a 1-year-old, that aren’t the usual toddler tales that most parents have?  Even the important parental conversation about her doesn’t happen until she’s a bit older.

I’ll keep thinking about it.  Really, I shouldn’t dwell on it too much – I’m supposed to be working on Mara’s story this year!

Leave a Reply

