Where to Start?

My parents are coming to visit soon, so I need to clean my apartment.  It isn’t actually dirty (for the most part), just really cluttered – particularly my second bedroom, which is where they are planning to sleep.

Here’s the problem: every time I decide to get started, I’m not sure where to begin.  I get a bit overwhelmed because there are a lot of things to do.  This means that I haven’t actually started cleaning at all.

This is also a problem that many people (myself included) have with writing.  There’s too much to do, too many tasks to start, so we don’t even begin.

The trick is to just start.  It doesn’t matter what you start with, just start.  Even if it’s a scene you really want to write that doesn’t come next, or washing the dishes you just used, get started!

And if you really need incentive, do what I’m doing tonight: set a timer and give yourself a bribe if you work until it goes off.  🙂

Leave a Reply

