The Benefits of Saying Nice Things

Do you know that saying, “if you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all?”  It seems like most people do the opposite; if they had a bad experience, most people will let you know, but if they enjoyed themselves or generally have a positive reaction to something they don’t often tell the person(s) responsible.

Recently I’ve tried to make it a point to tell people when something goes right, and I’ve discovered there is a benefit to saying something nice.  In addition to the interesting response to my fan letter the other day, I had another experience that reinforced this.

I get vegetables weekly from a local farm as part of a CSA program.  (I mentioned this a few days ago in another post.)  On Saturday when I went to pick up my stuff, I told the owner of the farm that I’ve been having a lot of fun finding new recipes and playing in the kitchen.  Her response was to ask me if I like to write, and if I might be willing to write  down what I do with the veggies so she can share it in the newsletter that goes out to the CSA participants.

Of course the answer to the first part was yes, I do like to write, and I told her that I could certainly give it a shot if she wanted me to share my veggie experiences.  If she likes what I write, she’ll give me credit in the newsletter!

This will obviously depend on me writing it, and her liking it, so nothing may come of the offer.  But if it does, what a cool opportunity!  And all because I said something nice.  🙂

Leave a Reply

