But That Means I Have to Blog Tomorrow…

I have some advice for anyone who is considering taking a break from writing and/or blogging.

Don’t.

It is very easy to lose a habit.  In 2011 I set myself a goal to post every day, and I managed all but two.  I decided not to post daily in 2012 but I tried very hard not to skip more than one day in a row.  (This amusing poem captures that idea.)  And then 2013 happened.

It’s been a bad year for blogging, at least on my end of things.  Excuses aside, I’ve slipped out of the habit of writing.  Even tonight, I realized at 10pm that I hadn’t posted anything today.  I almost skipped, but then I realized that I would have to post tomorrow, and I have a late day at work tomorrow.

When not wanting to have post tomorrow is the only reason I write, there’s something wrong.

If I’m not careful, I will slide back into the non-writing abyss that was May 17 – June 21 of this year.  (Here’s a hint – no posts at all!)  Not only is that a great way to lose blog readers, it’s also a really bad way to be a writer.  Writing every day, even if it is just a blog post, is a good writer habit.

Not writing for weeks at a time?  That makes me not a writer anymore.

So, with that in mind (and having an idea of what’s coming in my life and work) I am going to make a mini-goal.  Starting August 1, I am going to post something every day for the rest of 2013.  I am going to use the rest of July to work myself back into the habit of writing every day.  Vacation, work, stress, life, it doesn’t matter what comes my way.  I am going to write!

Wish me luck, and cheer me on!  (An occasional guilt trip wouldn’t be taken amiss, either.)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bookofmohs
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 22:37:30

    Be easy on yourself, once a writer, always a writer. Good luck 🙂

    Reply

  2. Bryan McDonald
    Jul 22, 2013 @ 23:02:59

    Very very interesting blog. I read this blog. Thank you for making this blog…

    Reply

  3. Tammy J Rizzo
    Jul 23, 2013 @ 12:53:53

    Leigh! Leigh! RAH! RAH! RAH! You’ve made a fantastic goal, and I’ll be cheering you on!

    That’s sad, isn’t it, the way life can strip you of good habits just like that, while bad habits linger on and on and on …. I, too, have made the goal of writing every day, either on my novel or on my blog, but preferably both. Otherwise, as you said, I won’t be a writer anymore, because a writer writes.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Let the Fun Begin! | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

