A Reading Dilemma

When you request an item from the library, especially through interlibrary loan, there is no way of knowing when it will arrive.  This can set you up for some potential dilemmas.

I have found myself facing one of those dilemmas.

I finished my current National Geographic on Wednesday.  (Okay, I didn’t finish it, but I only have part of one article left.  I need to be in the right frame of mind to finish that article, as it is about the slaughter of songbirds on the Mediterranean.)  I had no idea when my requested Wheel of Time would arrive, so I decided to go to the library and find an interesting non-fiction book.  I started reading the book I picked up shortly after I got it.  It’s very interesting, and I want to finish it, but being non-fiction it will probably take me a little while to finish it.

Of course, since I already started reading something, my requested book came in today.  It is also a large book, so even if I read it voraciously, it might take a bit to read.  This leaves me with a dilemma – should I finish the non-fiction, or should I set it aside while I read the fiction?  This also adds other considerations.  If I read the fiction, do I pause before book 5 to finish the non-fiction?  Which book is easier to renew, if I run out of time?

I’m probably putting way too much thought into this decision.  The reality is that I’ll read them both, in some order, unless the non-fiction gets boring and I give up on it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 23:12:23

    I had the “all the movies come in at once” and which one to watch first dilemma this past week along with books. I do love the library.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

