Names and Nicknames

I bought a fish today.

I’ve been thinking about getting one for a while.  My mom gave me a large cylindrical vase to use as a fishbowl (which I have to say looks very cool) and today I decided to go for it.  I ended up with a blue and red male veiltail betta.

I’m not usually a fan of coming up with names, but this time I had already picked one out.  I thought it would be fun to play with the fact that betta (the fish) sounds like beta (the Greek letter), so I wanted to choose a Greek letter for his name.  I also wanted to pick something that didn’t have a lot of additional meanings, like alpha or delta.  I ended up settling on Upsilon.  This also means that there are a couple of nickname possibilities (although if Max and Eli are any indication, he will get more the longer he lives here).  I can shorten it to Oops, or I can use the symbol for upsilon which is Y.

All of this naming and nicknaming reminds me that I need to come up with names for a couple of characters in Mara’s tale.  It also brings up my habit of creating nicknames, for my animals, for my friends, and for my characters.  Dragon Pendant is particularly full of nicknames, although in that world there is a cultural explanation for it.  Mara herself has three names in the first years of her life, although two of them are not really names.  (She’s called Moon Girl by the slave women who raise her, and Moth by the street kids she runs with.  She gives herself the name Mara when she is eight.)

Isn’t naming fun?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 22:15:16

    Very cool fish name. X)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

