Why everyone should have a collection of short stories

Everyone should have at least one collection of short stories in their personal library.  It should be a collection that you like, that you can read over and over.  (I have five.)  The reason for this is best illustrated by an experience I had today.

Before I begin my tale, let me first explain that I do not like being without reading material.  When I finish something, I start something else.  Even if I don’t open the reading material for a day or two, I don’t feel complete unless I am “reading” something.  Now, to the story.

I am reading Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series again from the beginning.  (I haven’t read the three concluding books yet, but I decided I would enjoy them better if I worked my way there.)  I do not currently own any of the series, so I’ve been requesting them from my local library.

When I get to about 100 pages left, I put a hold on the next book in line.  This time, when I was nearly done with book two, someone already had book three checked out, so it took a bit longer.  Fortunately, I had two months worth of National Geographic waiting for me.  I switched right over to those when I finished The Great Hunt.

Last night I read the last article of this month’s NG.  This morning I had the realization that I was without reading material, and at one of those “reading required” moments in my day.  These moments, when I am mid-series and yet without material, are when I reach for one of the well-worn short story collections on my shelf.

Here is the beauty of a book of short stories: they give you something to read without requiring a great deal of commitment.  You can read one story to get you through until the next trip to the library, or you can read several stories to get a fiction fix in the middle of a long stretch of non-fiction.

The end of my tale is quite fun, too, although not entirely related to the point I’m trying to make.  I was not without reading material for long, because I got both my notification from the library and next month’s National Geographic today!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. theparasiteguy
    Jun 26, 2013 @ 03:32:17

    Bloodchild fills this role for me. Admittedly, I mostly just read the first story over and over, but still…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

