Physical Surroundings

Today I started thinking about Butterfly Gardens.  This is the name of the estate where the three main characters of Butterflies (along with many others) go for training.

I know what kind of training they get at the Gardens.  I know the kinds of facilities they have, and the types of space they live in.  What I don’t know, because I never actually laid it out, is the exact plan of the place.

Much like with Mara’s tale and the wall, I am going to need to know a lot more about Butterfly Gardens when I get to the girls’ training.  Depth of story means that I’m going to have to work on my less-developed ability of description and give readers a better picture of the place.

Making the original map of the countries involved in Butterflies was a challenge.  I knew that it had to be done, so I could keep track of the many battles and locations of the war.  Visual details don’t stick with me, so a map is incredibly helpful.  (I even had a list of what all the major characters looked like for reference while writing; that’s how much those details slip my mind.)

One of my friends recently told me that she likes making maps.  Perhaps I’ll recruit her help to develop a map of the grounds of Butterfly Gardens, so I can keep track of where things are as we explore more of the place!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    May 08, 2013 @ 23:11:50

    Space descriptions throw me for loops, too. Beyond a few basic set pieces and a blurry backdrop, my mind often can’t be made to care; it’s like a radio drama, up there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

