Revenge of the Sun

I spent too much time in the sun today.

It was gorgeous, and I was with a group of people who was also spending time outdoors in a structured manner.  (I believe this is called a field trip?)  I didn’t have much say about where we were or how long we were out, and I wasn’t really complaining when it was happening.

It was in the car that I discovered the sun’s revenge.

Perhaps I should correct my first sentence.  I spent too much time in the sun today without sun block.

My face is an angry red, which isn’t fun and doesn’t look nice.  On top of that, I got a little of what I’ve heard casually called “sun poisoning” on another occasion: I was sick.  Headache, nausea, shaking, fever-like chills, I was on the receiving end of the full list.

After water, a cold compress for my face and neck, and a 2.5 hour nap, I am feeling much better (although my face is still red).  But I missed dinner, I missed tonight’s speaker, and the headache is still lingering.  I should feel fully recovered in the morning, but for tonight, I’m silently yelling at the version of myself that forgot to bring sun block or a hat, and didn’t think to rectify that until after the damage was done.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 13:16:47

    A beautiful but callous character, the sun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

