Books or Movies?

I am the kind of person who prefers books over movies.  If I’ve seen a movie and find out it was a book first, I might read it.  (I enjoyed Rise of the Guardians and also the first book of the series by William Joyce, Nicholas St. North.)  But if there is a movie made based on a book that I like, it is a safe bet that I will not see the movie.  (I’ve been disappointed enough.)

There have been a lot of commercials on tv lately for the re-release of Jurassic Park in 3-D.  While I did enjoy the movie, I read the book first and liked it much better.  (I mean, come on.  In the book they figure out that the dinos are reproducing using graphs, logic, and math.  In the movie they stumble across hatched eggs.  Which one is cooler?)  The commercials are doing two things.  They are reminding me that John Williams is one of the best movie composers ever, and they are making me want to re-read the book (and perhaps also re-read several other of Michael Crichton’s books).

I decided to go for it, and requested several of Crichton’s books from the library.  I picked up Disclosure today, and will hopefully have Airframe, Congo, and Jurassic Park soon!

I’m not sure that was the goal of the commercials…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 09:17:47

    Marketing can’t predict our writerly minds. X)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

