Under the Weather

I love to contemplate words and their usage, especially when they are applicable to my own life.  Feeling a bit ill myself, I have found sick to be an interesting word and concept.

First, there is the fact that this is one of the things in the English language for which there are many euphemisms.  Under the weather.  Not myself.  Less than 100 percent.  Feeling poorly.  (Or the kid version: I don’t feel good.)

The other interesting thing is that “sick” is a somewhat blanket concept.  I am sick right now because I have a sinus infection with a secondary ear infection.  A person is sick if their digestive tract is not their friend, in either direction, or if they are trying to cough up a lung.  It’s kind of odd though; you wouldn’t refer to someone with a broken leg as sick.  Perhaps there is a requirement for some level of perceived ick factor on which the concept of ill or sick hinges; maybe you need mucus or blood or some other bodily fluid involved to count as sick.

Since I am fighting off whatever microscopic being has decided to invade my sinuses and ears, I think some sleep is in order.  Hopefully my ear won’t feel like it’s stuffed full of cotton balls tomorrow.  🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. georgefloreswrite
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 23:53:15

    I hope your health improves and that you feel better soon!

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 10:33:12

    Can’t have “sick” without some “ick”, eh? Makes a certain kind of sense!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

