Weird Associations

Have you ever had your brain create odd associations that don’t make sense?

Right now the weirdest one I’m having is a song and a movie that (as far as I can tell) have no relationship.  Every time I hear “Little Talks” by Of Monsters and Men on the radio, I think of the movie Warm Bodies.  There is no connection between the two – the song is not on the soundtrack and the lyrics and storyline are not particularly related.  I have no idea why my brain has decided those two things go together.

Typically for me, an odd link has some clear source.  For example, music that I listened to while reading a book plays in my head when I read it again, or the book comes to mind when I hear the music.

It’s interesting to think about links like this.  If I had to guess, I’d suspect that they are most commonly a link between two different senses – a smell brings back a visual memory, a taste and a sound are connected.  The reason for this would be that it is possible to have two simultaneous, unrelated experiences when using different senses, and if they were unique enough in your life, it would be logical that your brain might put the two together.

Of course, that still doesn’t explain why the movie pops in my head when I hear the song, but that’s okay.  I like them both, so I can’t really complain.

And why is this tonight’s blog post?  I heard the song on a commercial on TV, and it started the whole train of thought.  🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 22:54:39

    Brains do goofy associative things, alright. Almost anything can remind me of one song or another. And as far as book-related memories… well, there’s an old blog post of mine that addresses that better than a late-night comment can. (:
    http://everonword.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/association/

    Reply

  2. georgefloreswrite
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 23:57:35

    Could it be that your emotions are the same regarding the two things? Sometimes that is why my brain does it to me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

