Submerged in Another’s World

After a very long work week, I had a nice three-day weekend with nothing to do.  I also had two new paperbacks courtesy of my parents.  These are books that I’ve read, the second and third of a trilogy by one of my favorite authors.  I decided to give the whole trilogy another read.

I started very early on Saturday morning, at about 1am.  Why did I start a book at 1am?  I don’t know.  Regardless, I read until 4, went to sleep, and woke up to read some more.  I finished the first one today, and I’m now about 100 pages into the second.

Did I mention these are big, epic fantasy novels of about 750 pages a piece?

It’s nice to sink into a good book, especially when I’ve been reading non-fiction and working a lot.  With a lush world, an intricate background, and the requisite complex characters, these are very easy books to get wrapped up in.

Of course, that means I didn’t do a lot of writing this weekend, but I think my imagination needed a chance to recharge, too.

(For the curious, I am reading the Moirin trilogy – the third trilogy of Kushiel’s Legacy – by Jacqueline Carey.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. georgefloreswrite
    Mar 03, 2013 @ 22:35:16

    I’ve never tried Carey and will add it to my TBR pile. Have a great week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

