That Silly Thanksgiving Poem

When I was in elementary school I wrote a silly Thanksgiving poem.  The school created a “book” of students’ writing and drawings, and somehow the food-related poem ended up in the publication.

I have no idea how they chose what went in; that was a long time ago.

I don’t remember the whole poem, but the final verse was family humor for a while so it stuck.  It occasionally pops into my head, particularly when I overeat.  (Tonight I ate way too much barbecue, and the poem appeared on cue.)

I know, I know.  Now I have to share:

I ate so much I think I’ll die.
Oh my gosh, there’s cherry pie!
My grandma makes the very best,
I’ll cut one slice and eat the rest!

Not fantastic, but you can see why it shows up when I pig out!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kate Katharina
    Feb 21, 2013 @ 08:57:15

    Love this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

