Playing with Titles

As I am dismantling Butterflies, I have nicknamed the books.  It makes it easier as I write, and gives me easy names for the documents on my computer.  Titles are not my favorite, so I don’t mind using working titles for now.

However, last night I had a little bit of inspiration that I am now toying with.  Each of the books corresponds to a line in an oracle’s prophecy.  That prophecy will be in the front of each book.  It occured to me that I could play with that and take words from the prophecy to create the titles.

It’s a good idea in theory but it’s proving a touch more challenging in real life.  Here’s the prophecy, as it currently stands:

When a blood-red moon sees a triad born,
The kingdom of Diaea by war will be torn.
If a name that is feared will be honored once more,
If a hero’s girl grows to a soldier of war,
If the country’s young prince finds the one that he seeks,
Then three butterflies have a chance to bring peace.

Right now I’m focusing on three of the novels, which are the lines underlined above.  One of the titles is fairly easy.  Gretchen’s novel can become A Hero’s Daughter.  The other two are not so easy.  A Name that is Feared and The One He Seeks are kind of odd names for novels.  I’m still working on it.

There is one thing I have to keep in mind: I might want to reword or change the prophecy!

Now I remember why titles aren’t fun.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 14:01:13

    Since you’re still in the title-brainstorming stage, you might want to rethink “A Hero’s Daughter”, too. I’ve seen so many “[Fill-in-the-blank’s] Daughter” titles that I’ve long since wearied of it. I’m not much of a feminist, but to me it feels unfair that a book’s central character should be known not as herself, but as an extension of her parent. I wouldn’t mind seeing her thus spoken of in a prophecy; as a title, though, it would rub me wrong.

    Reply

  2. Ink and Papyrus
    Jan 04, 2013 @ 01:13:41

    Once I read your prophecy, I immediatley thought ‘I must go and buy this book. Now.’ Then I realised it isn’t available yet. So, in order to help you along, I am willing to be a beta reader for your works if you need one. And if not, at least know that you’ll have one sale at the the very least when you do publish (though I’m sure you’ll sell more than one :))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

