That one difficult word…

You know what it is.  Everyone has one, although every person’s word is different. (You may have more than one; many people I know do.)

The word we’re talking about?  It’s the one that you always have trouble spelling, no matter how often you write it.

My word is dilemma.  I can’t ever remember if the I or the E comes first.  It’s pronounced DAH limma, so shouldn’t it be spelled DELIMMA?  Nope, the I comes first.  Weird.

What’s your word?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Dec 24, 2012 @ 20:20:24

    “Silhouette”. I finally mastered “Wednesday” and “tongue” by pronouncing them “Wed-nes-day” and “tawn-gyoo” in my head while I type, but “silhouette” still trips me up when I’m not paying close attention. (You sure it’s not “silohuette”, spell-check? Positive? Aw, well.)

    Reply

  2. starmartiza
    Dec 26, 2012 @ 22:53:29

    “Definitely.” I definitely hate that word. I also hate gah I can’t remember but it’s spelled with two c’s and some s’s.

    Reply

    • starmartiza
      Dec 26, 2012 @ 22:55:00

      Darn my bad grammar. I hate a word that I can’t remember off hand. I know it has two c’s and at least one s. I just wanted to make it clearer. I should have used commas.

      Reply

  3. Nicole W.
    Dec 27, 2012 @ 07:13:04

    My word is schedule, I keep writing the e before the l. It is probably because I pronounce it as sche-dule instead of sched-ule. My mind comes up with scheduel since duel by itself is correctly spelled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

