Dismantling

I started taking Butterflies apart tonight.  Of course, I know better than to edit an existing document; even when revising, you really should do a separate document.  This time it meant starting five new documents, one for each of the new books.  (Yes, I am taking my first novel and turning it into a series of five books.)

I’ve barely started, with two documents still empty.  (Those would be the as-yet-unnamed “part 1” and “part 2.”)  I copied the first big chunks of the novel into each of the three girls’ documents.  Now I get to start carving out the parts that don’t belong to them.

Of course, dismantling is the easy part.  It’s the rebuilding and fleshing out that will be a challenge.  I realized that each of the little books (Mara’s, Andi’s, and Gretchen’s tales) will need some sort of self-contained story.  So far I think I’ve figured out the most for Mara’s book, so I’m probably going to be working on her story first.

I might be a crazy person, taking on this project, but here we go!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy J Rizzo
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 12:31:31

    That sounds fascinating! So, you’re basically re-writing your NaNo novel to follow each of the five main characters, independently, and making this five smaller books that intertwine into one larger narrative? Do I have that right?

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Dec 09, 2012 @ 13:24:15

      You’ve got it close… My first novel (which I finished in 2008) was massive, about 103,000 words covering 18 years and a ton of intertwining stories. I’m taking that and turning it into a series of five books. The first three will be smaller novels that follow the childhood stories of the three main characters. Those three will cover the same time period. The other two (which will probably still be decently-sized) will come after those three and will cover the main plot and the other stories that are involved. I hope. 🙂

      Reply

  2. YerMom
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 08:09:55

    I am so excited that you are doing this. I think the end products will be GRAND!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

