With a Twist!

It’s always when things look a bit bleak that inspiration is the most appreciated, and tonight was one of those moments.

I am getting close to the end of Unexpected, and I’m only looking at about 35,000 words.  I’ve been facing (and somewhat ignoring) this difficult possibility for a while now, and the more I write, the more it looms.

So while I was walking my mutt tonight, I started contemplating ways to draw out the story.  There are legit ways to do it without seeming forced, unlike my 7-pages-become-11 essay tricks from high school.  How, you ask?  I could go back and add more description, since my first drafts are always light on it.  I could re-read the story and find places where it can use a little fleshing out (also something I usually do during a revision).  Or I could make upcoming things take longer than I originally planned.

This is where I was when the inspiration lightning hit.  Not only can I make something that was supposed to be straightforward turn out to be more difficult than anticipated, I can use it to bring in a crazy twist!

No, I’m not going to tell you the twist!  I will tell you that I am really excited about it, to the point that I was jumping around a little when it occurred to me.  Now I just need to find a way to resolve the secondary issue presented by this surprising direction.

Yay for a twist!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy J Rizzo
    Nov 21, 2012 @ 12:43:46

    Reblogged this on Tammy J Rizzo and commented:
    My own first drafts are notoriously light on details, too. That’s okay, though – detailing later enriches the 50K-word draft into a fully fledged, fully fleshed 100K(+?)-word novel. Of course, if I had put in the detail at first, I would have less story to still come up with ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

