Tightening Up Transitions

On Sunday I got a good distance ahead in my word count for NaNo, and I’ve tried to maintain my numbers since.  It hasn’t been exactly perfect; knowing that you’re starting the day with more words than you need to be on track somewhat impacts the motivation.  Still, I’ve done a reasonably good job and on Monday and Tuesday I decided to take advantage of this and re-read what I’d written.

Now, for those of you who are not Wrimos (the nickname for participants) I will let you in on a little secret: editing is not generally encouraged during NaNo.  The point is to get words on the page, be they good, bad, or downright ugly.  But with a bit of a lead and my subplot lead-ins still a bit undefined, I thought it might be a good idea.

Not only did it turn out to be a good idea, it gave me an additional 350 words.  That’s right, just rearranging my sections, doing a bit of tweaking, and tightening up transitions added to my word count!  Plus, it let me play with the chronology and the interweaving of the subplots, and I think that I am back on track to work the story in the proper progression once again.

I’m not recommending that you take the time to edit/re-read/tweak your novel, unless you’re a bit ahead and have the time.  But if you’re stuck or fighting with your creativity, it might not be a bad idea.

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

