Uncharacteristic Characters

I realized something odd about Unexpected, specifically about the female characters in the story.

They are all kind of, well, the best word for them is one that isn’t really appropriate for this blog.  You can imagine the word I mean.

Most of my books to date have strong, intelligent women as central characters.  In fact, until Unexpected, my main characters had all been women.  While there are two main characters in this one, the primary one, the one whose eyes share most of the story with us, is a guy.  The three females who play major roles are not nice people.

The antagonist (who still needs a name) is a sorceress who seduces men so she can harvest their energy for use in her dark magics.  (Not so nice a person.)

Doug’s ex-wife, Nikki, is a conniving manipulator who only shows up back in his life because she hears he has a new female companion.  She doesn’t want him, but no one else can have him either.  (Also not a nice person.)

Even Kiwi, one of the main characters, is abrasive and curses like a sailor.  We still like her, and I’m hoping that her friendly affection for Doug, however concealed, comes across to the reader.  While she borders on a nice person (hiding beneath a gruff exterior), she’s still not my usual type of female character.

Makes writing this novel that much more interesting, don’t you think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ericjbaker
    Nov 06, 2012 @ 21:17:05

    Maybe they all represent different sides of your inner she-demon.

    My goal as a writer is to one day give one of my characters a pet. Pets in my stories would just get in the way, so I need to find a way around that.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 22:52:13

      An intriguing thought, that they are less-explored sides of me. I highly suspect that two of the ladies are really extreme versions of people I know.
      Pets make for an interesting concept – as an animal person I have a lot of critters in my stories, but the closest I’ve gotten to a pet was a well-loved falconry bird.
      Thanks for the comments!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

