NaNo Advice, part 1

As a previous winner of NaNo and a competitor this year, I’d like to share a little writing advice with you.

Oh, who am I kidding?  I’m in the same boat as you!  There’s nothing about me that makes me any more or less of an expert on this thing.  To be honest, this is really advice for me.  (As in, let me tell you the things I’m doing that aren’t helping…)  I’m thinking we could do this weekly, but we’ll see how it holds up.  So, with no further ado, here is today’s “advice”…

Stop looking at your word count and just write.

Checking your word count when you finish a section or stop for the day is fantastic.  That’s how you update your word count on the NaNoWriMo page, after all, and how you track your progress.  Looking at the end is helpful.

Glancing down at the end of each paragraph is less so.

I don’t know why I’m doing it, and I’m trying to stop.  Really, I am trying to stop!  Somehow I am more obsessive about the word count this year, or perhaps I am just noticing the checking more, but either way it’s getting a bit in the way of the creative process.  The true goal here is to write a novel, right?  So the running total shouldn’t be the focus, the actual words should be.

Instead of my original idea of putting a sticky note over the screen where Word shows the current word count, I changed the size of the window and shifted it down so the word count is off-screen.  We’ll see how long that lasts, but it should help for the moment.

And now, back into the fray!  Once more into the breach!

Happy writing!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 19:29:03

    I have to go out of my way to check the count in my Word program, so this isn’t a problem for me. Good; I’ve got my own problems. X)

    Reply

  2. Tammy J Rizzo
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 21:49:00

    Reblogged this on Tammy J Rizzo and commented:
    Another bit of good advice for us NaNoWriMo-ers.

    Reply

  3. Tammy J Rizzo
    Nov 03, 2012 @ 21:49:48

    Reblogged on http://tammyjrizzo.wordpress.com. Very good advice! I should follow it. 😉

    Reply

  4. Trackback: NaNo Advice, part 2 « Butterflies and Dragons
  5. Trackback: NaNo Update, Day 1 | Butterflies and Dragons
  6. Trackback: NaNo 2013 Advice, Part 1 | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

