NaNo 2012, Day 1

Today is the start of November, which means that NaNoWriMo 2012 has begun!  Much like last year, I promise to not let the blog devolve into a simple word-count update forum during NaNoWriMo.  I’ll try to do weekly updates, like I did in 2011, so you’ll know how I’m progressing and what challenges I’ve had, but otherwise I’ll use the NaNo experience to provide a good source of writing-related posts.

So, let’s have Day 1 be an update!  I didn’t stay up last night, and after work today I wanted nothing more than to sit and read the fiction novel that I started pre-NaNo.  (Once I’ve reached the end, it’s back to nonfiction until NaNo is done.)  That said, I did manage to get the juices flowing and spend the last hour working on Unexpected.

Oh, you want a word count?  Okay.  Current count is 1752, which means I’m basically right on track as of today.  (And apparently everyone else is trying to post their word counts right now; NaNo’s website won’t load!)

I might write some more tonight, and I have three days before I have to go back to work.  Hopefully I can get the count built up!

I can say I’m enjoying my characters so far, and the writing hasn’t been too bad.  I even had a little surprise in their conversation; as usual it drifted a bit from the original idea in my head, but in a good way.  I mean, how often do you get to have a fairy and a human have the following conversation:

As he opened his mouth to continue the fairy held up her hand.  “I’m bored now, don’t keep talking.”

 Her bald statement made him bark out a shocked laugh.  “Ok, then why did you ask?”

She turned from him to survey the room again.  “It seemed like the answer could be interesting. I was wrong.”

Did I mention I love these characters? 🙂   I’m hoping that bodes well for getting to 50000 words!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thejinx
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 20:29:19

    Cute little conversation. Sounds like interesting characters indeed. Good luck for the rest of the month.

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Nov 01, 2012 @ 20:32:59

    “I’m bored now, don’t keep talking.” I wish I could just say that whenever it applied. XD
    Glad to hear your characters are making it fun for you. Sometimes it’s the fictional people involved that can make or break a NaNo. (:

    Reply

  3. Trackback: NaNo ’12 Day 1 | Side Quest Publications
  4. Trackback: Nano Day 2- part 2 -Turtles | Chillers And Thrillers

Leave a Reply

