Should I Stay Up?

Hopefully by now you’ve gotten the idea that I’m pretty excited about this year’s NaNo.  Heck, I’ve been planning my novel since the end of April!  Now, on the eve of the big event, I’m faced with a choice.

Should I wait to start until after work tomorrow, or should I stay up and start at 12:01am?

I only have one more day of work until I have a nice, long (and dog-free!) weekend.  I have lots of time to sleep over the three days, as well as to write.  So, should I sleep tonight and be fresh and alert for work (and then writing)?  Or should I go with the excitement, rush the field, and start as soon as November starts?

I think, ultimately, that the decision will come down, not to my concern for work or my enthusiasm for NaNo, but to my ability to stay awake.  As I am typically not a night owl, I often fall asleep long before midnight even if I want to stay awake.  Due to that fact, I probably won’t make my official choice until after 11pm.

Are you staying up or starting with a fresh night of sleep?  Are you one of the lucky/smart folks who took NaNo Day 1 off from work or school?

Most importantly, are you ready? 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leigh Townsend
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 20:52:30

    As it is not even 9pm and I am already drifting, the answer will definitely be sleep now, write after work! It was fun to think I might be able to stay up, but the enthusiasm is losing to the exhaustion….

    Reply

  2. deshipley
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 21:19:09

    Night writing for me! I’m usually up until all hours anyway, and if I play my cards right, I might be able to squeeze two days’ worth of words into one, which would be an awesome way to come out of the gate. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

