The Social Side of NaNo

Tonight I got an email reminder that the local kickoff event for NaNo was happening this evening.  Even though I didn’t take advantage of the social aspect of NaNo last year, I decided to give it a try.

The group was really interesting and fairly diverse (at least as far as writing is concerned).  There were a few folks who are trying this NaNo thing for the first time, and others who have participated before.  We had a couple of fantasy authors (including yours truly), a couple of Christian fiction writers, a few doing general fiction, and a couple who haven’t quite decided what they’re writing yet.  All in all, it was fun to talk stories, swap writing techniques, and get some ideas.

And, oddly enough, there was a computer programmer named Doug in the group.  (That would be the same job and name as my main character, if you haven’t heard.)

I don’t know how active I’ll be with the local group, since I’m typically not a social writer, but after tonight’s experience I might take in a write-in or two.

Only 2 more days to NaNo 2012!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Should I Stay Up? « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

