Playing with Expectations

There are many reasons that my NaNo novel is tentatively titled Unexpected, including the fact that I intend to play with what readers expect when it comes to my characters.

It’s fun to flip things around a bit.

While a fairy with attitude is something we’re used to (Tinkerbell, anyone?) a fairy with a mouth like a sailor who shows up questioning the parentage of a hummingbird and insisting on ice cream is not quite what we’ve grown up to anticipate.  It may not be as unlikely, but an ex-wife who ditched her husband but is suddenly interested in him again when there is a mystery woman involved is also fun to play with.

I’m still trying to find a way to tweak my computer programmer in a way that’s atypical.  To be fair, I know a lot of self-described nerdy guys, so what I think is usual may be unexpected to people who are less familiar with the reality than the stereotype.

There are also some interesting ways to play with plot expectations in this novel as well.  I hope it turns out to be as fun to write as I’m anticipating!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Oct 21, 2012 @ 21:21:46

    A few generous dashes of the unexpected is a great addition to any recipe for fiction. (:

    Reply

  2. Kate Ferguson Writes
    Oct 22, 2012 @ 11:05:25

    Have been enjoying your posts for months now and wonder if you could write about how and where you get your ideas from. And whether you experience writer’s block or periods of self-doubt. I’m very interested in the writing process so any insight would be appreciated!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Should I Stay Up? « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

