My Most Popular Post

I love the stats that WordPress provides.  I like tracking how many visits I get per day, what search terms bring people to my blog, and what topics seem to be of interest.

There is one trend that I keep seeing, though, and that is my most visited post.  There are two that seem to get a lot of traffic, but one of the two is consistently at the top.  “What do dragons eat?” is almost always the most visited per week, and the same topic is frequently listed as a common search term.

Of course, my post is about making decisions about what the dragons in my book eat, not about dragons in general.  As a fictional species (or set of species, depending on your story) dragons can eat just about anything their author wants them to eat.  In the movie How to Train Your Dragon, the dragons enjoy fish but detest eels.  In Dragon Pendant, my dragons have similar eating habits to big cats or birds of prey.  With their typically sharp teeth, most assume dragons eat meat of some form, but that doesn’t preclude a creative author from developing a race of herbivorous dragons.

Even though I’m not a dragon expert (and unless you count people who collect the various cultural traditions about dragons, there really aren’t any experts) I’ll continue to enjoy seeing my post about deciding on dragon food habits at the top of my weekly visits list.

Other bloggers: do you have one or two posts that frequently get more attention than others?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. YerMom
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 07:55:59

    So what post comes in second?

    Reply

  2. atoasttodragons
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 12:53:32

    Dragons eat whatever THEY want. 🙂

    Anyway, the post of mine that got the most hits in one day was my one entitled “Romeo vs. Dracula”–it was a discussion of the over romanticizing of the vampire in such stories like Twilight and what have you. Not sure which of my posts has the greatest staying power, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

