Muscle Memory

Much to my mom’s chagrin, I don’t type using home row.  I was never patient enough to sit there and type slowly to build the muscle memory that it requires when I could get the typing done so much faster if I just looked at the keyboard.

I don’t have to look at the keyboard anymore, because even though it isn’t home row, I developed my own version of muscle memory.  You could call it “hunt and peck” without the hunting.  (Would that be just “peck?”)  The weird thing I’ve discovered recently is that it isn’t exactly letter-related; in lots of cases it’s the pattern of the words that my fingers remember.

How did I figure this out?  Well, if I type the wrong letter, sometimes my fingers finish the wrong word.  I wanted to type “last” the other day and hit the D instead of the S.  My hands kept going and wrote “lady” instead.  (To be fair, the Y is in the same place relative to T that D is to S, so I could very well have been finishing the word, just offset.)  I also find that I often add a K at the end of “thin” (I even did it just now!) because I type “think” a lot more often.  There are several words like that, words where I finish out with an ending letter because my muscle memory just takes over and keeps going.

Of course, my “huntless hunt and peck” was developed over lots of years of typing, and I spent most of those years staring at my fingers.  Now I can watch the words appear on the screen without thinking, and type at about 70 or so words per minute, but wouldn’t it have been nice if I could have been doing that all along?

Although I guess it never really mattered much, since I don’t need to type quickly to make a living.  🙂

Want to know how fast you can type?  I used http://www.calculatorcat.com/typing_test/ to find out my words per minute.  It’s kind of fun!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 20:26:10

    I just noticed the other day that my fingers seem to want to spell “Robin” with a “g”, making it “Robing”, most probably because so many words end in “-ing”. All very well, “robing” is a perfectly valid verb… it’s just not terribly helpful when I’m trying to write about Robin Hood!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

