The NaNoWriMo Warning

There are a multitude of new people in my life, primarily due to the fact that I recently moved to a new town and started a new job.  Many of them know that I write.  Right now I’m trying to figure out the best way to try to explain NaNo to them?

More specifically, how do I warn them that I’m about to turn into a hermit-like, writing-obsessed, semi-crazy person?

Honestly, last year’s NaNo wasn’t so bad.  I’m not sure this year will be as easy, but that’s hard to predict.  (It’s probably along the lines of people telling me “We had a really mild winter last year” when I confess I’m a little wary about the cold.  That’s wonderful for you, but it doesn’t really mean much for this coming winter.)

I have a few weeks to figure out a plan to let people know.  Have any suggestions?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hghtashbry
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 00:05:44

    I mean this with all due respect but this post made me laugh. Unfortunately, I don’t have an answer for you. I don’t believe anyone who doesn’t write will ever understand just how stressful, fun, and nerve-wracking writing 50,000 words in 30 days can be. They really don’t know how hard it is until they try it themselves.

    Reply

  2. Zen A.
    Oct 12, 2012 @ 04:29:08

    I say you should just tell them the truth. Tell them that you’re doing a competition in November that involves writing 50k words. That number alone will make them realise how difficult it would be. So if you tell them that you might be frazzled and the like, I’m sure they’d understand!

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 13, 2012 @ 11:01:53

      Good advice. Most people can’t wrap their heads around 50,000 words, so the idea that I’m attempting to write that many in a month is usually scary enough that they get it. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Should I Stay Up? « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

