Shopping

I’m with my sister, my mom, and a few others to help Whitney find her wedding dress, so shopping is on my mind a bit this weekend!  I have a shopping question for you:

Are you a browser or a beeliner?

Today my sister and I discussed shopping styles.  When we were at the mall, the browser in her made the beeliner in me a little nuts.  If you’re unfamiliar with the concept, let me give you a brief description.

Beeliners know exactly what they need.  They get into the store, find what they need, buy it and get out.  These are the people who rarely come out with anything that isn’t on the list.

Browsers enjoy the hunt.  They might have something they are trying to find, but they mosey through the store and just look at things.  Browsers tend to come home with things they didn’t set out to buy.

I am a beeliner in most stores.  Even if I need something vague, like jeans, I only work on the task at hand.  I try on a lot of jeans, but unless something happens to catch my eye while I’m looking at jeans, I probably won’t put on anything else.  My  sister is a browser.  She’ll spend time in a store with no real goal, just looking and trying on things that catch her eye.  Needless to say, we kind of drive each other crazy when we try to shop together.  (My best friend is also a browser, and we have the same challenge.)

There is one setting in which I am a browser, not a beeliner, and it is dangerous.  That would be a book store.  I will go in to get one book and leave with an armload.  (I do the same in the library, but there it doesn’t hit my wallet!)

So which kind of shopper are you?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Oct 05, 2012 @ 22:29:56

    Browser or surveyor as I call it. I like to see all the options and then make a decision.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 07, 2012 @ 18:36:49

      I can understand the “seeing all the options” idea, but do you shop when you have no particular need for anything? That’s what my mom and sister were doing on Friday. 🙂

      Reply

  2. deshipley
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 01:19:24

    I will usually browse, knowing that I may not buy much, if anything. I just enjoy looking. …Unless, of course, it’s a bookstore. I’ll very rarely walk away empty-handed, then!

    Reply

  3. Nicole W.
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 11:06:21

    I am a beeliner. In order to do any major shopping, I have to enlist the browsers of my family (my mom, my aunt, and my younger sister) to help me out.

    Reply

    • Leigh Townsend
      Oct 07, 2012 @ 18:38:12

      I usually recruit help for major purchases as well! The browsers in my life do a good job of helping me find the right thing, rather than settling for the acceptable thing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

