Working on Work

When I wrote Butterflies, there was a gap of about 3 months when I didn’t write at all.  This was due to moving to a new city and starting a new job.

Somehow, in moving to this new city and starting this new job, I’ve managed to find time to write and submit essays for a certification, revise Dragon, compose a query letter and synopsis, and blog nearly every day.

Lately, though, my brain has been focusing most on what it should be – my new job.

To be clear, I am not complaining.  I absolutely love my new job.  It uses most of the skills I’ve developed through my career, it challenges me, and it keeps me on my toes.  I have a great team, too, and we’ve improved things in a lot of ways.  But now that I’ve started one big picture project rolling, it’s time to begin the others.  This means that a lot of the creative space in my brain is occupied by boxes labeled “Work” and the ones labeled “Story” are stuck off to the side.

Okay, you’re thinking, why do I care?  Consider this a sort of apology or explanation for any lapses in blogging that may occur in the immediate or near future.  It’s not that I don’t love you, my reader, or that I’ve died or given up writing.  I’m just trying to get all those boxes organized!  After all, I need to get some space cleared by November.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: The First of Many | Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

