Playing with Clay

Tonight I am going to a pottery class for grown-ups.  Mostly it’s a chance to play with clay, which I haven’t done (other than play dough) since I was a kid.

I took a lot of art classes as a kid, especially pottery classes.  I’m not going to claim that I’m good at art.  In fact, my mom had a couple of art projects of mine that she saved specifically because they were so bad they were funny.  (Even I admitted they were bad, so it wasn’t mean on her part.  We all got a good laugh out of the bowl that rocked on its feet and the funny too-skinny person I made.)

The end result is not the primary goal for me.  Instead, art is about the creative process.  It’s a chance to manipulate materials, use my hands, and come up with something from my own mind.  So tonight’s class, which is focused on having fun with clay, is perfect for me.  🙂

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:12:54

    Ahhh, you’re making me nostalgic for my college ceramics class. I walked around hacking clay dust for months afterward, but it was so worth it. I found the clay-sculpting zone and the story-making zone to be comfortably comparable. (:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

