Mundane (Or, how inside jokes get started)

I was writing a different post for today and referenced a family inside joke.  I thought, “Surely I’ve told my readers this story, so I can link that post to this one” and immediately went to find said post.

It doesn’t exist.

After my moment of “How have I not told this story!?” I saved that post (to continue another day) and began the process of sharing said story with you.  As a bit of background, my family and I share a lot of inside jokes, most of which are random and make no sense to others while cracking everyone in our group up.  That’s how it goes.  Don’t feel bad if you don’t find the humor; just smile and appreciate the fact that there is someone out there who is chuckling at the end.  This story also has a touch of my friend Jack to it, as well, since I believe the original version (sans family joke) was his, not mine.

Have you ever had one of those moments when you are searching for a word, and your brain gets caught on another word, close but not correct, that keeps repeating like a skipping record and getting in the way of finding the word you really want?  I was explaining this concept to my family in the following way.  I have no idea why I chose the word mundane for the example, but I did, and the results will be explained at the end.

You’re trying to think of a word, and your brain says, “Oh, I’ve got it!  It’s mundane!” and you respond, no, that’s not quite right.  So your brain offers, “Maybe it’s mundane?” and you say, no, that’s what you just said.  “Perhaps it’s mundane!” No.  “…I know!  Mundane!”  NO.  “Then how about… mundane?” NO!  This is the point where you say, Forget it brain, I’ll find another word.  Of course, about 30 minutes later (with mundane put away) the real word you were looking for pops into your head.  Probably when you don’t need it anymore.

Now, a couple of things about this story before we continue.  Obviously my brain and I don’t actually have conversations; this is personification for dramatic effect.  I am not (that type of) crazy.  You must also imagine me, standing, acting this out with different voices, fully emoting the “excited” brain when it think it has the right answer.  Got it?  Good.

For some reason, part of the way through this tale, my family started to laugh.  I started to laugh.  I don’t think I even finished the story, we were all cracking up.  (Honestly, most of the time I don’t know how or why my family’s sense of humor works.  I just enjoy it.)  Now all someone has to do is say “mundane” and we all start chuckling again at the memory.  The word has taken on a life of its own, just by connection to the story and the moment of my telling it.

There.  Now I have told you the story, so when I mention mundane in another post (in order to reference this tale) you are in the loop.  Maybe you aren’t enjoying the joke, but at least you know what’s going on.  I don’t like leaving people out if I can help it, and references that only three people get aren’t very useful.  🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Keith hancock
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 00:29:21

    haha, and believe me the older you get the more it happens. Greetings from the land of smiles. K

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Describe it for me « Butterflies and Dragons
  3. deshipley
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 14:22:39

    Hahaha, your brain sounds like mine. X)
    Those kinds of jokes are great, though — everyday, ordinary, *mundane* words or triggers that have everybody in the know cracking up. Such jokes are fun to slip into stories, too; nothing plot-jarring or nonsensical, of course, just a seamless little line to give to friends and/or family as a surprise goody.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

