Finding What’s Important

I am an author, and one that is very character-driven.  This means that, by definition, I am attached to every character in my story in some way.

Some advice that I found about writing a synopsis said to leave out anything that isn’t key to the story, including side characters.  This is valid advice, but I now feel like a parent being asked to choose between my children.

Ok, that’s not fair, since I’ve never been a parent and I have no idea what it would be like to choose between children.  I still feel bad about leaving characters out of the synopsis.

For now I’m working on chapter summaries, finding the key actions and emotions from each chapter. It’s hard enough to leave out plot points and sum up the entire chapter in two or three sentences.  I’m bracing myself for the difficult decision of cutting those down, until all that’s left is the key points of the story.  Fortunately, unlike Butterflies, the layering of characters is more distinct.  It shouldn’t be too hard intellectually to know which kids get to stay, even if my emotions want to give everybody a mention.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 20:29:25

    As a fellow character parent, I can relate. I don’t like to pick favorites! Doesn’t stop me from doing exactly that on a regular basis, but I still feel the guilts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

