Summing it up

The agency that I want to query wants a one-page synopsis of Dragon.  I wrote the very short blurb for the query letter, as well as a more detailed (but still short and somewhat vague) paragraph about the book for the query letter.

Now I need to write an actual synopsis.

I just finished re-reading Dragon, so I should be in a good spot for writing a synopsis.  The trick is to not just list what happens, but to capture the essence and emotion of the story.  It also needs to be excellently written.  After the query letter, this is one of the only chances I get to impress the agents.

Looks like I have a new project!

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: On Becoming a Master Gardener…or Master of the Query | joanneeddy's blog
  2. deshipley
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 18:24:50

    Ah, the synopsis — quite possibly my least favorite part of a project to write. Here’s hoping you enjoy it more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

