Assembling the Packet

I’ve picked one agency to query, at least to start.  Interestingly enough, it’s the same agency that I started with for Butterflies.  That probably makes sense, because the same things that drew me to them the first time still hold true.

Tonight I pulled their submission guidelines from their website.  (As I’ve said, the website is your friend!)  Now I get to start assembling the packet.

Ok, it’s not really a packet.  The agency wants email queries, so it’s a collection of attachments.  I still have to prepare and gather my documents.

Fortunately, unlike others I’ve seen, this agency is explicit in what they want.  I’m not just talking which documents to send, or what types of fiction they want.  They are also particular about formatting, and they’ve made that very clear.  When someone is this specific about how to query them, I would hope that every query fills their requirements.  (Knowing people, that’s probably not true.  But no one can say they weren’t told.)

The next couple evenings will be devoted to preparing the documents and polishing everything! 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie West
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 20:51:19

    Good Luck!

    Reply

  2. YerMom
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 08:59:03

    Sending good thoughts and prayers your way. LYM!!

    Reply

  3. Angie West
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 21:36:31

    Agent submissions give me a migrane! I’m like the rejection queen, only maybe not as snarky.

    Reply

  4. Angie West
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 21:40:47

    I’m not going to name names but I called one agency about three years ago (their website said to email subs but there was no email, no link, nada). So I called and asked about that and instead of pointing me in the right direction the receptionist asked me if I was a published author. When I said no she said “we’re not interested” and hung up on me 😦 It was a fairly big, reputable agency too. AND their sub guidelines didnt say anything about published authors only as a criteria.

    Anyway, sending good thoughts your way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

