You have the sexiest grammar I’ve ever seen…

A few days ago I updated and reactivated my online dating profile.  Let’s face it; I moved to a new city.  At this point the people are work with are all, well, the people I work with, and I’m just starting to meet people outside of work.  Going on a few dates might open that door a bit more, so I decided to go for it.

Of course, within a day or so I got what we’ll call the “first bites.”  I suspect these are the guys who send a message to any new female face that shows up on the site, probably without reading her profile at all.  While it seems like a waste of time, that doesn’t bother me as much as their very common grammar and writing errors.  (I know, you’re not surprised.)

Some typical problems include a lack of punctuation and/or capitalization, texting shorthand, and the usual there/their/they’re and your/you’re challenges.  They are usually short on complete sentences as well, or just short in general.  I have my mail settings arranged so that someone has to write at least 50 characters to send me a message.  Fifty characters!  That’s short.  “Hello!  I like your profile, please check out mine.” That’s it!  Obviously “I think you’re interesting” is more characters than “u r cute,” and that’s basically the point.  Believe it or not, I had a guy who didn’t hit the 50 mark on the first try.  How do I know?  Because he held down the exclamation point until he had enough characters.  Seriously?  Why on earth does this guy waste his time (and mine) when I’m clearly not going to respond?

Are you on a dating site?  Want some advice?  Take the time to do a grammar and spelling check before you send a message!  Ladies, this applies to us, too. If you want a quality guy, make sure he thinks you are a quality girl.  When a guy sends me a grammatically correct note that is also free from spelling errors, I will take the time to check out his profile.

If a guy mentions correct grammar and/or spelling as a requirement in his profile, I will send him a message.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 22:53:08

    Classy verbal/written speech: Not at all too much to ask. Goodness knows a fellow who can’t put a measure of care into his sentence structure will strike out fast with me. One must have standards!

    Reply

  2. YerMom
    Jul 31, 2012 @ 07:22:47

    Did you catch your own error – “At this point the people. . . . ”
    LYM !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

