Why didn’t I do that sooner?

The first draft of my query letter is finished, and I don’t know why I kept putting it off.  Once I started thinking about the novel, the important pieces of it and the interesting elements that I wanted to share, it just seemed to fall into place.  Usually, if I’m procrastinating on something, it’s because I think it will be hard or I don’t want to do it.  In this case, as so often happens, it wasn’t nearly as hard or unpleasant as I anticipated.

Of course, it’s just a first draft.  It’s going to need some major revisions before it’s sent.  A query letter is the first (and often only) impression that a potential agent gets, so it needs to be flawless.  At least the first step is done!

Leave a Reply

