Finding Writing

I make cryptic notes.  Most of my writing ideas stick in my head until they get written in full, so I don’t often make detailed outlines or character sketches.  The best I usually do is jot a quick note to myself, just enough to reignite that spark of thought when I need it.  Here is an example from my outline for this year’s NaNo:

Fun scenes: Kiwi falls through the chimney

This is enough for me, while the ideas are fairly fresh and not on a page.  Once the scenes are fully fleshed, though, they vacate my head.  It makes it fun to re-read my own writing months later, but it also makes it really interesting when I find the notes years later.  I hoard notebooks; many of them made it through the purge and the move.  Today I sorted through the last few boxes and stumbled across some writing notes.  Here’s what I found:

I don’t think I did anything anyone else wouldn’t have done.
The world happened all at once.

It took sitting on the floor for a few minutes before I realized these were notes from the early development of With Honor.  This prompted a quick flip through the notebook, which also contained bits of my master’s thesis, Dragon, Burden of Knowledge, and even some revisions of Butterflies.  All in all, a fun discovery!

Have you ever stumbled across notes that took you back to the development of your earlier works?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 22:06:52

    I have indeed, and my reaction tends to fall into either one of two categories: The “Oh, ye-e-eah…!” of nostalgic remembrance, or the “…Wha–?” of having no recollection of what was going on with my brain at that moment.
    Or sometimes Y.
    (“Y”, here, standing in for “both”, in the name of vowel humor.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

