Why not just write it now?

I told my mom today that I am excited about the novel I have come up with for this year’s NaNo.  (I made it to Sioux Falls and met up with my parents, if you needed context.)  Her response was along the lines of “Why don’t you just write it now?”

It’s a good question, but I have a good answer as well.  In fact, it is a three-part answer.

1.  I need something to write for NaNo.  If I write the book now, I’ll have to come up with something else.  Other than outlines and character sketches, I can’t write anything for the book or I won’t be able to use it for NaNo.

2. The characters and story were created with the intent of being for NaNo.  The whole spirit of creativity that sparked the ideas grew out of a sense of necessity fostered by another NaNo, and I want to maintain that spirit.

3. If I really get my brain working on it now, the actually writing in November should be a piece of cake!

Are you starting on your ideas for NaNo?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. deshipley
    Jul 12, 2012 @ 22:32:35

    Nothing for November yet, though I’ve got plenty up my sleeve for Camp NaNo in August! …yeegads, that’s under 3 weeks away…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

