A Great First Sentence

My life is now in boxes, inside a large box, ready to leave before me to head to my new home in South Dakota.  This means that I finally have time to sit down and slow down for a minute, which tonight meant cracking open a new book.

This book, Feathers by Thor Hanson, promises to be the non-fiction book I’ve been looking for about the link between dinosaurs and birds.  (Science nerd, remember?)  More importantly, it has an awesome first line.

“Vultures made me do it.”

This is a great first sentence for a non-fiction book.  It immediately promises the touch of humor and personal approach that signal a book that will be enjoyable to read.  Plus, how many of us have an opportunity to say vultures made us do anything?

I’m going back to the book, and I let you know if it lives up to the promise of its first line.  🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tammy
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 19:01:01

    That is a great first sentence, hope the rest lives up to it.

    Reply

  2. Snailquake
    Jul 04, 2012 @ 16:39:16

    I’m gonna have to buy that book…

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Even Non-Fiction Needs Stories « Butterflies and Dragons

Leave a Reply

